Thursday, February 26, 2009

Some knowledge about Seo

When getting into the business that I am now, internet is key to our survival Search engine optimization (SEO) is vital to any business that has a website. If you have a website for either business or just for fun and want to receive more traffic. I have listed several FREE ways you can do that. For the record I am no SEO master, but I have written this article to help those you who are not one either.

Have you heard about blogging? From blogging you find information on tons of topics. If you sell books you should be blogging on something about books. If you sell video games you should blog on relating topics. It helps more if you blog on subjects related to your website. In addition, you should actively comment on blogs related to your topics. In most cases, this leaves a link from your website to theirs. The blogs that will give you links are called Do-Follow blogs. When you write a comment it will ask you for your website address. Once you leave your URL it will put a link to your site from their website/blog. This leaves your footprint on the World Wide Web. This is one great way to begin building quality links ultimately helping with SEO.

Directories are another great way to get noticed। There are thousands of directories that are free. You just have to search for them. Directories are good because it doesn’t just advertise your website on the directory but you will receive a link on another website. Directories can help increase website traffic and search engine placement.

Keep original content on your website. Write new articles frequently. It is worth more when it is original than when it is already somewhere on the internet. You can make the article search term or key word rich. Do this by adding "reading a good book can..." or "this was the greatest video game I have ever..." This adds related content to your website. When you have original content on your site, search engines (Google) give you more respect। Plus, when you write about something you have to think about what you are writing। From this you will gain more knowledge on that subject। You are learning more about your own business. I just wanted to give you some valuable tips that will help you increase visits to your website for free. The most important thing is to get links back to your website. This will give you an estimate of how many links you have. A search engine will begin to notice you more as a credible website and in return will rank you higher on its list of websites when somebody searches for books or video games on the net.

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Affiliate Internet Marketing - Knowing Where To Start

It is very difficult for new marketers to find the right market. That is one thing all marketers must know - spot the right business opportunities. This ability doesn't come easily. A lot of time is needed to experiment to learn how to find the right markets.

You can use affiliate marketing techniques to help you spot opportunities on the Internet. Affiliate marketing basically means that you will be promoting someone else products. You only make money when a sale is made. If you can't convert the traffic into paying customers, you don't earn a single cent.

There is very little risk involved in affiliate marketing. You start off by driving traffic to the sales page. After about a hundred or a couple of hundred visitors or so, you get a good feel of whether the offer is converting well enough or not.

This is ideal for market research. There is no need to spend money to develop a product, only to realize that nobody wants to buy it. When you find an offer that converts well, simply develop your own products - but do it better.

You see, it all starts from affiliate marketing. If you like, you may even test different markets at one go. Very soon, you will be able to see for yourself, some concrete results - which market is lucrative with rapid buyers, and which market appears to be just luke warm.

Once that is over, just keep your eye on the profitable opportunities. If you want to make more money, just rinse and repeat what you have done.

Here is a business model that has been proven to work - build a list of prospects or customers, and sell them products over and over again. It sound simplistic, but list building works.

Here is an example. Let's say you start off with just one product, and you sell it for $47. When you make a sale, you earn 47 bucks. If you make 10 sales, you make $470. To make more money, you have to acquire more customers. If you don't, you can't grow your business.

Assume that you don't acquire any more new customers (which is unlikely). Can you still grow your affiliate business? You can still grow your business by working on backend products. You are trying to sell to your existing customer base. The lifetime value for each customer increases.

There is a lifetime value for each customer - and that is the total amount of money that he is willing to spend on your products and services. For example, if he spends $1,000 with you over the course of the relationship, the lifetime value is $1,000.

Things get exciting from hereon. Now if you know that for every customer you acquire, you will earn an average of $2,000 during a customer's lifetime, how much would you spend to acquire that customer?

To make money, affiliate marketers must repeat the sales process. They make an upfront sale of $47, and then they forget all about the customer. Build a list, and focus on serving the same customers over and over again. The cost of selling to an existing customer is much lower than selling to a new customer.

Use a simple web form to capture emails so that you can get in touch with your prospects again. You may earn 5 to 10 times whatever you are earning now.

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

On Page Marketing

Are you new to this site? We have free guides and tutorials making search engine optimization and internet marketing simple to understand. We hope you subscribe (top right buttons) and take full advantage of our exclusive information only made available to subscribers.

On page marketing is also referred to as conversion optimization। Once you get visitors to your site you have to find ways to monetize that traffic. In other words you want to make money off of the visitors to your site. Give them value for free, then offer something for sale, then re-offer other similar products as an up-sale.

All website are conversion tools to get users to buy

There are many sites that are more of a conversion or sales tool than a traffic magnet. Some types of business, usually local service businesses, don’t have a chance to get much traffic organically. There are just not many customers or buyers searching locally for their service online.

Whether your business is a great traffic magnet or you have to send your potential customers to your site manually through cold calling, brochures or some other form of traditional marketing, once they are there it is important to convert them to to a real customer.

Stop yourself from treating your site as just a hobby

Websites are just tools for getting business or making money. Many websites are treated as nothing more than a hobby or a status symbol. No matter what your passion is there are ways to make money off of your website. Be passionate and write your heart out but make sure there is something on your site that users can buy to support your effort.

How to sell an e-book on your website

Many websites have really annoying advertisements on their sites that just make their visitors crazy. The more effective ad is something that makes sense with the article the user just read. Example:

After plugging your e-book convert the reader to a buyer

When they click to view the e-book you should send them to a conversion page which is a page designed to convince the visitor that they should buy the e-book. Usually these type of pages are the highest converting when they have very attractive graphics, are extremely simple, and have a photo of some face with the eyes invitingly looking at the user. They already trust you if they read the whole article. If they are serious about conversion rates there is a decent chance they will buy.

Stay clear of affiliate programs unless you are an expert

Affiliate programs allow you to advertise other company’s products or services on your site in exchange for you getting a percentage of the sale. Our experience with affiliate programs have shown us that they are all pretty much a total waste of time.

There are so many technicalities that can disqualify your commission that you can end up making them a bunch of money and get non yourself. They don’t tell you what you are doing wrong very often. They will continue to let you send them customers without letting you know why you are not getting a piece of the pie. Our recommendation is that you find or create unique content such as e-books that you get almost all of the sales price yourself.

Keep your conversion process on your site

Keep the user on your site through the conversion process. If you just send all your users to other sites where they buy the products then you lose much of the control that is needed to make a decent amount or money on the internet. There are very easy ways to collect the money yourself using Google Checkout of Paypal payment systems. You can send bills via email and allow users to purchase your products and when they are done buying they are redirected back to your site. Ideally you have what are called up-sells ready for them.

How to make additional offers after a sale

An “up-sale” is an offer designed to compliment their recent purchase. You see it all the time with big sites like Ebay, Amazon, etc. “If you are interested in this, maybe you will be interested in that.” It is a way to add purchases to each buyer and many times users will actually be upset that you don’t sell something if they consider it as vitally related to what they already purchased.

Use email marketing for effective customer retention

An effective way to resell a customer who you already went to the expense of attracting to your site is email marketing. This is only effective if the email recipient trusts you and has bought from you already. Once they buy something offer them an option to be added to an email list for further offers or product updates. This allows you to send them thank you notes and additional offers that compliment what they already purchased. Many websites lose massive amounts of money by neglecting the power of customer retention.
Example of a hobby site that is losing thousands per month

An example of this is http://nintendoplayers.com. They provide great Nintendo video game reviews and information but there is no “Buy Now” button anywhere to be found. So, if a user wants to buy the game that they became convinced was great they then have the added frustration of having to go off page to buy it. This is a common problem with all the sites where the owners of the site just think of it as a hobby. Make sure that you don’t make this mistake.

Monday, February 23, 2009

7 Tips For Generating More Traffic to Your Site!

If you're an affiliate marketer, the main thing that can make or break your business is website traffic. After all, if you have no traffic, you'll be stuck wondering why this business doesn't work. Generating quality leads can be simple and cost efficient, but only if you know where to look. Here are 7 tips for generating more traffic to your site:

1. Old School Direct Mail - It sounds weird in this age of internet to say this, but direct mailing is still effective! You have to have a small budget for this, but there are many sites where you can get free business cards and such. Have them printed and then go distribute them in the parking lots of your neighborhood grocer or wholesale foods store (eg Costco).

2. Domain Name - If you haven't already, you need a crucial domain name instead of the affiliate link that you're given. Think about it, if you see xxx.affiliate.com vs. www.bestaffiliate.com, which would you visit? The domain name is often the first thing a person sees, so you want it to be something people can remember.

3. Social Networks - This can be online or offline! Facebook, MySpace, and Twitter are all of these are places with mass amounts of people you can market to. Create your own group for affiliate marketers, where you can share ideas and websites. You can also just do word of mouth within your friends and family! You never know who is in need of what you're selling.

4. Write Articles - So many people are doing this that I'm not even sure this is a tip, but regardless you need to write articles that link back to your site. Don't think about it too much... just write! If you're good, you can pump out a few articles in an hour that you can distribute to various article databases on the internet.

5. Classifieds - Again, this is a classic method, but also very effective. Online, you can use craigslist and any number of ad sites like vflyer or postlets. Offline, look at your local newspapers or look into making a press association ad so it can be distributed to several papers all at once!

6. PPC (Pay Per Click) - Just pay for your traffic! There are so many sites out there that can drive traffic to your site, that pretty much all you need to do is pick one. Pay per click can be an ad on a website or an email ad. It really just depends on what method you think would best suit your customers.

7. Backlinks - Link your site to other people's sites and have their traffic be your traffic. The more people your website is available to, the more likely it is that people will click to your site and you can make a sale.

These 7 tips can help generate traffic to your website, which will help put dollars in your pockets. All it takes is implementation!

Saturday, February 21, 2009

Website Traffic Secrets - Why SEO is Critical in Your Writing

So now that you have figured out that writing articles and creating blog entries is a great way to create a stream of free traffic, you need to think about how to maximize your time investment. After spending your precious time creating articles you would like to think you are getting the best possible return on that time investment right? In this article I will cover a few tips that should help you make the most of your articles and blog posts.

Title Tips 
  
When you begin your article the first thing to spend a few extra minutes on is the title of your article or blog post. The first thing to do is to try and make the title unique. There is no point using a title that already exists on 10 other articles. You are just making your task of getting noticed harder for yourself. 
  
Next make sure that the title is relevant to the content. Don't mislead people but don't be too vague either. It should be clear to the reader what to expect in the content. Lastly make sure that the title has your main keyword or key phrase in it so your article gets displayed with the correct searches. 
  
Watch Your Keywords 
  
In your writing you should make sure that your keywords and key phrase is used in the main body of your content to ensure. Search engines scan the content as well as the title to evaluate when to display your writing. A warning at this point though! Be careful not to use too many keywords. Putting tons in your content will get you penalized and you will lose out so by all means use keywords in your writing but don't go nuts! 
  
The Power Paragraph 
  
I always spend a few extra minutes on the first paragraph of any writing I produce and I call it the power paragraph for good reason. In searches the first paragraph can be used when displayed in results. This means people many evaluate you just on your first few sentences so this could be make or break. Make sure you craft it to pull people in as well as you possible can. 
  
Keeping these tips in mind when you write can help you create a far more powerful piece to attract traffic. Best of all these tips take hardly any more time than you are already spending on your writing and of course they are free.

Do you need to learn more about internet marketing? Are you looking more ideas, tips, tricks and secrets to help you get more traffic to your website and make money from your traffic?

Then you need to sign up for my Uncover Traffic Newsletter. I will help you build your traffic flow and keep it growing well into the future.

Friday, February 20, 2009

The Difference Between SEO and Search Engine

SEO and SEM For Online Marketing Success

If you are new to Internet marketing, you may have some questions about the difference among search engine optimization and search engine marketing. These core marketing subjects are very different but share a number of similarities as well.

Search engine optimization (SEO) and search engine marketing are similar in many ways. Each online marketing discipline requires a strong understanding of purpose and functionality. The practice of SEO requires a basic knowledge of search engines and how they work at their core. Search engine marketing requires an understanding of online marketing and advertising.

From the outside, both internet marketing methods appear to be very complex. The truth however, is that SEO and SEM are simple to understand. Implementation of best practices is what makes success such a challenge. Search engine optimization is essentially the techniques you use to rank well on major search engines is a direct result of your understanding and application of proven techniques in the area of SEO.

Search engine marketing is the practice of online advertising via major search engines. Even though Google is the largest and most well know, there are literally hundreds of smaller ad networks. Each network functions in much the same way. Advertisers place online ads throughout the network and when a browser clicks, you pay a fee. This is true regardless of conversion.

Search engine optimization is different from search engine marketing in many ways. SEO is defined as the organic result that shows up in search engine results pages after a user generates a query. Techniques associated with SEO are broken down into on-page optimization and off page-optimization. These techniques have their own nuances but are independent of one another.

The result is that search engine optimization drives organic traffic to your website or blog. That is to say that after users complete searches on major search engines like Yahoo! or Google that the results list comes from each search engine determining the best result. When users click on these results the advertisers owes nothing. Organic search is usually referred to as free traffic for this very reason.

Search engine marketing is different than SEO because with SEM you pay only when users take a specific action. Unlike traditional advertising you do not pay for an ad to simply appear. Rather, you pay when a browser clicks on your ad. Your advertising costs are related to a number of factors including keyword competitiveness and ad placement.

Online marketing is based on a good understanding of SEO and SEM best practices. These internet marketing subject areas are common among today's marketing professionals but rarely do you find the level of expertise needed for success. Learn more about these subject ares with some research and be sure to subscribe to an SEO newsletter or blog. As you gain more knowledge implement new techniques and improve your rankings.

Saturday, February 7, 2009

Why to Use White Hat SEO Instead of Black Hat SEO

Getting in the top in search engines is very hard job. If you are targeting high competitive keywords it may take a long time to get into top 10. In this situation many webmasters have a dilemma -- continue with white hat SEO or try some dirty tricks? Let's have a look at advantages and disadvantages of both solutions.

There are one basic advantage and disadvantage of white hat SEO. You don't risk penalization but it needs quite a long time to succeed. On the other hand black hat SEO can speed up the process. But there are some very strong reasons why never use black hat tactics:

1. Black hat is not ethical. In other words it is pure cheating. If the ethics is not argument for you continue reading the other reasons.

2. If you use hidden text you will be probably reported by your competitors. It is not difficult to find the hidden text on the page. Just press CTRL + A and you will see everything including the hidden text. Every page can be also explored using "view page source" function.

3. Spamming the weblogs and forums doesn't work in the long run. It cannot be called regular link building method. Most of these links will be deleted in a few hours or days. Good forums have moderators who can delete spam very quickly. Weblog comments are usually moderated so the spam will never appear on the site. And most of the blogs which are not moderated have nofollow attribute. It means the links from such websites are ignored by search engines. The remaining links which can have some positive SEO impact will be deleted as soon as the site owner find them. If you get a lot of such links which will be deleted in a few days or weeks Google will think you are buying links and it can hurt your SE ranking.

With good SEO strategies you can expect a lot of visitors which will come to your website and earn you good money. To get the highest conversions your site should load as quickly as possible because your visitors will leave it if they will need to wait too long. Good uptime is also very important. You will not make single sale if your website is down. 

http://ezinearticles.com/?Why-to-Use-White-Hat-SEO-Instead-of-Black-Hat-SEO&id=1920183

Thursday, August 21, 2008

Selling With Your Own Web Site

Many people have their own product, a book, a CD, a craft, or other product that they would like to sell with their own Web site, but they can't find simple instructions on how to get started. In this article, I'm going to explain how to sell your product with your own Web site. It boils down to four steps.

1. Find a Web server:
You need to put your Web site on a computer that is running a Web server program and is connected to the Internet. There are three choices:
  1. Your own server. This requires you to be, or to hire, a system administrator responsible for system maintenance, software updates, backups, and security. This also requires a high-speed communications link to the Internet. This is practical only for large organizations.
  2. Your ISP (Internet Service Provider). Along with a broadband or dial-up connection to the Internet, many ISPs also provide you with a small amount of personal Web space. There are several problems with using this Web space, even for a small business Web site. The storage space and monthly transfer allowance is too small, and if you decide to change ISP, you lose your email address and you need to move your Web site.
  3. A Web host provider. There are many companies that sell Web site space on their servers. These companies offer three grades of service:
    • Free hosting. The hosting service makes money from banner ads that they display on your Web site. Sometimes the storage space is too small and the monthly transfer allowance is usually limited.
    • Shared hosting. Your Web site shares a server with many other Web sites. Some hosting providers put too many Web sites on each server, or someone else's Web site monopolizes the servers processor or bandwidth. This slows down your Web site.
    • Dedicated hosting. The hosting provider sets up a separate server for your Web site alone. Whereas shared hosting can be acquired for as little as $5 per month, dedicated hosting cost hundreds of dollars per month.
Recommendation:

Most small businesses can't afford a dedicated server. You can use your ISP's webspace or a free host for learning purposes, but usually only shared or dedicated hosting lets you use your own domain name. You will want to register and promote your own domain name, not put a lot of effort into promoting a domain name provided by a free host.

There are many Web host directories that let users rate web host providers. Visit several of these directories and choose a web host provider with a good rating. The most important specification to look for in a Web host provider is "up time". They should have a 99.9% up time guarantee.

2. Design and Build your Web site:
A Web site is nothing more than a collection of webpages. Webpages are very similar to documents that you would create in a word processor. A word processor, like Microsoft Word for example, uses invisible "tags" to layout the page. Whereas Word uses "Rich Text File (RTF) tags, a webpage uses Hypertext Markup Language (HTML) tags. But the concept is the same.

You never actually see or deal with the tags in a word processor document. Many people use a web page design application that lets them avoid dealing with html tags on a webpage. But most serious webpage design requires you to deal with html code directly. There are three reasons why you would need to deal with the html code directly:
  1. Your web page design application refuses to format the webpage exactly the way you want it.
  2. There is an error on your webpage.
  3. Most word processor documents are static. A webpage usually contains powerful little programs called "scripts" that work with the html tags on the page.
Recommendation:

Before venturing into creating your own Web site, spend a few weeks experimenting with html tags to create webpages by hand. You don't need a Web server to test your webpages. You can load them directly into your Web browser. In your learning, focus on linking pages together that reside in different folders. This is where most beginners have a problem.

The first step in building your Web site is to create or choose a template. As I mentioned earlier, a Web site is nothing more than a collection of webpages. But all webpages for a Web site should have the same basic layout, color scheme, and navigation elements.

There are thousands of free and pay templates available on the Web. Actually, every Web site is a template that you can explore by selecting View | Source in your Web browser's menu. The most import thing about selecting a template is that you are comfortable with it. If the template uses complex code, the chances of getting an error occurring are high, and you may not be able to fix it.

Recommendation:
Select a template you like, but don't use it directly. From the html coding that you learned by following my previous recommendation, hand code a similar template. Now you will have a template you understand and are comfortable modifying and fixing if it becomes necessary.

Generally, you will create webpages on your local computer and upload them to your Web site, usually using FTP (File Transfer Protocol). Most web designers keep a local copy of their entire Web site on their local computer. Here they can test a webpage before uploading it to the live Web site. If your design uses active servers pages (ASP), you may want to install a Web server on your local computer for testing purposes.

3. Set up E-commerce:
E-commerce involves setting up shopping cart software and a means of accepting credit card payments. There are three possible ways to set up e-commerce:
  1. Set up shopping cart software and a secure order form on your Web site. Then process the orders using your regular off-line bank processing service. This is good for people whose Web site is an extension of their off-line business. But setting this up from scratch for a Web only business may be too costly.
  2. There are many companies on the Web that will set you up with a merchant account. This service may or may not include a shopping cart. In either case, before the user enters their credit card information, they are transferred to the secure server of the merchant account. Setup costs for a merchant account can run into hundreds of dollars. In addition, there are transaction fees and monthly fees.
  3. Many small businesses use online payment services. Most online payment services can provide you with a shopping cart, but in many cases, all you need is to place some html code provided by the online payment service on your Web site.
When your customer clicks on a "Buy" button on your Web site, they are transferred to the web site of the online payment service where they enter their credit card information. You receive an email notification when a transaction is completed.


Online payment services don't charge for setup or monthly fees, but the transaction fees are similar to a merchant account. Fees run about $0.35 and 2.5% per transaction. After a delay to prevent charge backs losses, you can login to the online payment services Web site and transfer the payment into your bank account.

The oldest and largest online payment service is PayPal which processes over 600,000 transactions per day.

4. Promote Your Web site:
Unless someone makes a lucky guess as to the URL (Uniform Resource Locater) or address of your Web site, you will receive no visitors. Simply placing your Web site on the Internet does not result in traffic. You need to promote your Web site. There are many ways to promote your Web site, some free and some pay, some very effective, some a total waste of time. Below are the main methods of generating traffic:
  1. Advertising. You can purchase advertising on Web sites that do have traffic. You can also purchase advertising in newsletters or e-zines. Don't assume that the Web site with the most traffic or the newsletter with the most subscribers is the best value. The secret to successful advertising is testing. Test different advertisements in different locations.
  2. Pay per click. Almost all search engines will let you purchase search words. When a search engine user enters a search for a word that you purchased, a link to your Web site will be returned at the top of the results. Sometimes you "bid" on a search term. In that case, when a user of the search engine enters a word that you placed a bid for, a link to your Web site will be returned in the results below all Web sits that bid more money.
  3. Traffic Exchange. A traffic exchange is a Web site where you login and click to visit other people's Web sites. For each Web site that you visit, you receive a credit. You can exchange your credits for visits to your Web site. If you don't feel like making the effort to visit other people's Web sites, you can purchase visits to your Web site. The quality of traffic from traffic exchanges varies between very poor to totally useless.
  4. Search engines. You can submit the address of your Web site to most search engines for free. After you submit your Web site information, the search engine will scan or "spider" your Web site with a program called a "robot". The robot will provide information that allows the search engine to list your Web site in their database, and rank it for relevancy. When a user of the search engine enters a search for a word related to the content on your Web site, a link to your Web site will be returned in the results at a position depending upon the relevancy of your webpage.
  5. Link popularity. Different search engines use different methods to rank the relevancy of a webpage. One method uses the number of links on the Web that point to the webpage. To take advantage of this, you need to get links to your Web site posted in as many places on the Web as possible. One method to accomplish this is to write articles related to the topic of your Web site and make them available for people to post on their Web site for free.
  6. Web presence. To get traffic to your Web site, people have to know you are out there and what you have to offer. Getting involved and contributing useful information in online forums and message boards is one way to establish your presence on the Web. People reading your messages may put information about you on their Web site. Another advantage of this method is that it keeps you in touch with what's going on in the areas related to the topic of your Web site.
Selling your product with your own Web site boils down to the four steps explained in this article. This article is in no way comprehensive. Complete details about each one of these steps would to fill entire books. This article gives you a general overview and enough information to get you started.


Copyright(C) 2004 Bucaro TecHelp.

Permission is granted for the below article to forward, reprint, distribute, use for ezine, newsletter, website, offer as free bonus or part of a product for sale as long as no changes are made and the byline, copyright, and the resource box below is included.

About The Author
To learn how to maintain your computer and use it more effectively to design a Web site and make money on the Web visit bucarotechelp.com. To subscribe to Bucaro TecHelp Newsletter

How The Right Domain Name Can Improve Your Sales

So you're starting a website and have visions of making hundreds, even thousands of dollars in sales a day.

You've done your market research, found a profitable niche, planned your website's theme and layout. Now all you need to do is build the site, buy a domain name and - voila - the cash starts rolling in.

Hold on there cowboy. While making lots of money with your website is very possible, it's not as easy as it used to be.

Increasing competition, fickle web searchers and crazy search engine algorithms make earning money from your website a little harder than it used to be.

Don't get me wrong though: If you're serious about making a living online and you work hard, you can make more money than you ever dreamed possible. The key is that you have to realize that every little decision you make in your web business helps propel you to the top and give you that edge.

One way to get an edge over your competitors and keep your customers coming back is to choose the right domain name. (Your domain name is the unique name that identifies your Internet website.)

Here are the top 3 ways the right domain can help you build a killer cash generating website:

#1 A good domain name helps your customers remember your website:
How many times have you found a great website, forgotten to bookmark it and then completely forgot the name of the site? While some Internet users do use the bookmark function, many other Internet users do not.

They assume they'll be able to return to a good website by remembering the URL or through the search engine where they found it. But that's not always the case. Search engine rankings fall; people forget which search engine they used or which keyphrase your website came up under.

Tip: Choose a domain name primarily for your target audience. Make it simple - preferably 2 words only or 3 short ones at most. Try to choose a .com or a .net or even a .org ending - people just don't remember a funky extension like .name, .tv or even .biz.

If you can, make it an action phrase that describes what your website can do for your customer. For example, if you repair laptops, something like: www.fixlaptop.com would be a lot easier for your customer to remember than www.laptopland.com

Why is this easier? Because people don't have time to remember your URL. They are focused on what THEY want to do (i.e. 'fix laptop'.) therefore it's much easier to remember your URL if it describes what they want to do.

Choosing a domain name like this also has the added advantage of telling your customer EXACTLY what you can do for them. No questions or confusion. ('Do they sell laptops? Do they sell laptop parts or add ons? Do they fix laptops?')

#2 A good domain name helps the search engines rank you for your chosen keyword:
Although this is still up for much debate, many webmasters and SEOs think that a domain name with your top keywords in it is much better than a domain name without your keywords.

They think that search engines use the domain name to help rank your website. So, in theory, someone with a website about affiliate programs would rank higher (all other things being equal) if their domain name was http://www.affiliateprograms.com than if their domain name was http://www.makemoneyonline.com.

Tip: Try to include your top keyword or keyphrase in your domain name if you can - but not at the expense of your audience. If they can't remember it, they probably won't come back or recommend it to anyone.

#3 A good domain name establishes you as an authority on your specific niche:

I was advising someone just the other day who wanted to start their first affiliate marketing website. They were about to make the same mistake almost all newbies make: choosing a domain name that was way too general.

Here's the thing: Unless you have the resources of Amazon, Yahoo or shop.com, you just can't compete with the overly general sites. Successful marketers will tell you that the most profitable websites are found in the niches. A good domain will reflect your niche and, as such, establish you as the authority in that area.

Think about this, if you need a part for your Toshiba Laptop, would you rather go to a website named www.laptops.com or a website called www.Toshiba-laptop-parts.com? Which one do you think will have a larger selection of Toshiba laptop parts? Which one do you think is the authority on Toshiba laptop parts?

Choosing a good domain name can help you stand apart and keep your customers coming back to buy more. By following these three tips, you can choose the right domain name and skyrocket your website sales.

Kate Fox is contributing writer to Web Conversion: How To Sell More With Your Website

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BUSTED! The Real Truth Behind Today's Top 4 Internet Marketing Myths

Let's face it...

One of the biggest "roadblocks" to starting an online business is all the misinformation, or myths, out there about Internet Marketing. You're bombarded with SO MUCH information (most of which is total garbage) that it's nearly impossible to figure out what's real and what's a total lie.

So... It's Time To Dispel Some Of The Top Internet Marketing Myths!

Internet Marketing Myth #1: "It takes years and years of technical expertise to build a money making website."
That's complete Bull S#@%!! So-called Internet gurus have sold us on the idea that making money online is easy just to get us to buy their product. Then when you do invest in their course - possibly spending money you don't have - you find out that you have to buy yet another product just to find out how to actually implement the theories taught in the first course.

They make is sound so easy in their sales letters, but when you get the actual products they leave you hanging when it comes to actually using all that "insider information."

MAXIM: The truth is... Without an ounce of experience you can have a clean, functional website READY TO TAKE ORDERS in 7 days or less. (That even includes 3 days for getting your all your various accounts setup and web page copy written.)

It doesn't take a technical genius to put up a one page, sales letter website that takes orders and accepts credit cards... but there are several things you should know before you begin building your "mini-site".

Knowing how to setup your own websites can save you hundreds, even thousands of dollars in actual, out-of-your-pocket expense and thousands more in lost revenues... not to mention the weeks and months of frustration from trial-and-error you'll save by having these strategies!

Internet Marketing Myth #2: "Building and maintaining a money-making website is expensive."
Listen... Some "gurus" will give you a laundry list of "must have" tools and resource that can cost a fortune. Many of these products ARE actually worth the investment. But, some are just being "pushed" for the affiliate commission. (There's no money to be made in telling you about the free and low cost resources that are available to build your websites.) Some are extras that WILL enhance your profits, but they're not essential to your success.

By the way, there's nothing wrong with earning money from a recommendation, if the money is not the primary reason for the recommendation. If someone really has the best interest of his/her clients in mind AND the product benefits the customer in a major way, there is absolutely nothing wrong with earning a few bucks for referring a customer to a valuable product or service.

MAXIM: The truth is... By using some, almost secret, free and low cost resources, you can have a site up and running - even accepting credit cards - for less than $20 of up-front expense. (But don't let the low price fool you. These are some of THE best resources on the Internet.)

If you can't afford $20 to get started, you need to seriously consider that Internet Marketing is not for you. I don't say that to sound harsh, but it is a fact, in order to make money you need to spend A LITTLE money.

I understand that not everyone can afford $400 for and HTML editor and $149 per month for a dedicated web hosting account. I strongly believe what one of my mentors Jeff Paul taught me... "Test small, lose small."

In the beginning, you shouldn't go out and buy all the whiz bang software gadgets and fancy graphics. Stick to the basics, but don't scrimp where it counts! And, of course, I'm going to teach you the places where it counts the most.

You can get started with an absolute minimum investment. Then, when you have some experience under your belt and you're ready to take your online business to the next level, by using some advanced resources to dramatically enhance your profits and make your online business tremendously easier to manage.

There are two more myths that I've "busted", but I don't have the room to talk about them here. If you want to get a free ebook with all 4 myths and discover the real truth about each one, visit:

http://www.MiniSitesMadeEasy.com/InternetMarketingMyths

Dan Kelly is the creator of a brand new video tutorial series that gives you a step-by-step, nuts-and-bolts, look-over-my-shoulder guide to building YOUR Internet Empire in a flash.

"Discover The Step-By-Step Formula That 99% Of All Newbie Internet Marketers DON'T Know And Will Never Find Out!"